Culture > Monuments > 2491 πŸ”—

San Bernardo alle Terme

Piazza di S. Bernardo - 00187 Rome β€·
Castro Pretorio [R.XVIII]
Esquilino [1E]

The term "alle Terme" refers to the Baths of Diocletian: one of its towers, the rotunda of the western corner of the external body, was transformed in 1598 into the church of San Bernardo on the initiative of Caterina Sforza, countess of Santa Fiora, who bought the site by the Carthusians of Santa Maria degli Angeli and donated it to the Cisternensi, who still officiate it today.

Inside are the eight stucco statues of Camillo Mariani and Francesco Machi; the Madonna and Saints (1710) and San Bernardo (1718) are by Giovanni Odoni.

Buried in the church is the German painter Federico Overbeck, who died in Rome in 1869, founder of the "Confraternita di San Luca", an Association of Artists who, who moved to Rome in 1810, gave birth to a particular pictorial current, called "Nazzareni", for their common life and the use of long hair.

The facade was restored and modified at the time of Pius IX.
The environment surrounding the Church has undergone radical changes following the urbanization of the area after 1870 and then with the opening of Via Barberini in the years 1926-1932 so that it is difficult to imagine that today's square is now used as a parking lot, in a congested traffic sector, it was one day part of the same Baths.

This site uses technical cookies, including from third parties, to improve the services offered and optimize the user experience. Please read the privacy policy. By closing this banner you accept the privacy conditions and consent to the use of cookies.
CLOSE