Trinità dei Monti

Piazza della Trinità dei Monti - 00187 Rome
Campo Marzio [R.IV]
Centro Storico [1A]

In 1723-26 Francesco De Sanctis built up this scenographic creation with the money offered by the french embassador Gueffier for to resolve the difference of 34 meters level between Pincio and the church of Trinita dei Monti on the one hand and Piazza di Spagna
on the other hand, on the other hand by replacing it with a very steep road which leads to the homonymous church.

It is made of 138 travertine steps and disposed on 3 levels with little terraces from where it is possible to enjoy the panorama.

Since 1951 from April until May azaleas of flowers are exposed on the ramps. They take the church of Trinità into a typical background of the Roman spring. In the summer the stairs and the same square are a theatre of fashion parades.In the right-side building one can find Keats-Shelley Memorial.
In the opposite building the most ancient tea-room called Babingto had place.

The Church of Trinità dei Monti is one of the French churches of Rome begun in 1502 by the order of Luis XII and consecrated in 1585 by Sisto V then restored after the damages of the napoleonic occupation by Carlo Francesco Mazois at the expense of Luis XVIII.

The inside keeps traces of the late gothic architecture. In some chapels the frescos of painters of '500 could be found. From the front the square is decorated by Sallustian obelisque of 30-50 meters placed in the end of '700 (hieroglyphs are the roman imitation of the original egiptian ones) from where a splendid panorama can be seen.

This site uses technical cookies, including from third parties, to improve the services offered and optimize the user experience. Please read the privacy policy. By closing this banner you accept the privacy conditions and consent to the use of cookies.
CLOSE